Why do I even bother?!

My sister and I arranged for us to go out for a meal with my parents for their wedding anniversary. 
We thought we would choose somewhere nice, and different they hadn’t been to before.

We asked them to choose a date so we could be sure they can make it.

So I booked a table at a restaurant weeks ago.

Today mother decides to ask why we can’t go on a Sunday instead.

Is it just me with my emotions heightened by baby, or is that pretty ungrateful when we’ve gone to the effort to find something that works for everyone?

My husband doesn’t like roasts… If we go for a meal on a Sunday, most places ONLY do roast.
We tried to do something nice and it gets thrown back in our face.

My cousin arranged a lovely afternoon tea at her house the other weekend, again to celebrate their wedding anniversary.  Everyone either baked cakes or made sandwiches.  One of the first things my dad said was “oh. I thought we were going out for a meal”.

Leave a Reply

