Mother’s Day

So today Theodore is 4 days old, and I get to celebrate my first Mother’s Day.  He’s laying in his bouncer in his Storm Trooper outfit sleeping soundly.

These past few days have definitely hurled me kicking and screaming into motherhood. 

After a fairly long (27 hours) labour start to finish – induction at 7.30am, giving birth at 10.53 am the next day with forceps and episiotomy it’s definitely not made my foray into motherhood easy. 
I’m hit by feelings of being inadequate.  I can’t walk properly or move quickly.  I can’t walk around with my baby boy,  I can’t react to him quickly, I struggle to sit up with him (and therefore burp him).

I’m sure considering the birth these are normal things, but for a person like me who is normally so independent it is ridiculously hard to let hubby look after me.

However I can now just about walk up and down the stairs, and am able to wash up without being in agony.  I can do some things.

Despite all of my whinging, I most definitely realise how lucky I am to be blessed with a child and my most amazing husband.
I definitely didn’t appreciate him enough prior  to giving birth. I will not take him for granted even again.  This experience has definitely brought us closer together and I know there’s no-one else out there for me.

Leave a Reply

